Tags

, ,

photoTruth be told, I may be notorious for believe autumn is much, much closer than it actually is. That being said, my mind has already moved on to fall. Are there any scents or flavors quite as decadent as those of fall? When my grandmother-in-law gave us bags full of apples picked right out of her backyard, I wanted to try something new! After looking up some different recipes, I concocted my own recipe for Apple Butter. While I realize there’s nothing novel about this recipe, I just wanted to share with you how easy this is to make!

I like a lot of spice in mine, so if you don’t want a very strong spice to yours, half or diminish the cinnamon and cloves.

12 small-medium apples
1/2c brown sugar
1/4c wild honey
1/4c apple cider vinegar
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 1/2 Tbsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp cloves
Dash of salt

1) Combine all ingredients in Dutch oven, cover and cook on medium-low for one hour, stirring occasionally.

2) Blend all ingredients until smooth, if you have an immersion blender that would be perfect! I don’t have one, so I transferred the mixture to my blender. (If you prefer a chunky butter I would omit this step)

3) Return mixture to Dutch oven and simmer uncovered until thickened.

Serve over hot rolls, toast, English Muffins, etc.